top of page

Keeping it Dark.....

Had a great shoot recently with Georgia. We were working to an interesting premise of her wearing black, against a black background, with lighting set to create shadows and contrast, so dark, against dark, in shadows....if I got anything more than a black image I was going to count my self lucky.....I think I can count my self lucky!

half length straight at the camera, as light as we got!

looking down, well lit.

a little bit sensual

With this sort of lighting a little bit of soft effect and blur goes a long way in changing the atmosphere of the shots....

soft lighting and effect

3/4 length and toned.

no effects, shot with red filtered lighting.

Then we did a few shots emphasising the red filter on the lighting, although I do also use blue filters I considered that would make the shots too dark.

Red filter lighting.

One interesting aspect of using coloured filters is how they can affect the tones of monochrome shots, this shot is one of my favourites, conveying a rather sad feel, which was, I have to admit, completely at odds to the amount of laughter generated during the shoot, to be honest, Georgia did extremely well for a new model to switch from normal mode to modelling mode.

sadness in mono-chrome

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page